EU chiefs sign deal, UK MPs to vote on agreement

The European Union’s top officials on Wednesday formally signed the long fought-over post-Brexit trade deal with the United Kingdom.

European Commission president Ursula von der Leyen and European Council President Charles Michel signed it in a brief ceremony in Brussels, Belgium.

The documents will now be flown across the Channel to London in a Royal Air Force plane for British Prime Minister Boris Johnson to sign.

“The agreement that we signed today is the result of months of intense negotiations in which the European Union has displayed an unprecedented level of unity,” Michel said.

“It is a fair and balanced agreement that fully protects the fundamental interests of the European Union and creates stability and predictability for citizens and companies”.

The UK Parliament will start debating the agreement on Wednesday, before a vote at 14:30 GMT, setting up new trade rules between the 27-nation bloc and former member the UK.

Related Articles

Back to top button